If you have forgotten your WordPress username or password then you will have reset the password. Remember that you cannot change your username. A new username can only be assigned to a new user account. This can only be done by users with administrator access.
If you are not the administrator then you will have to contact the WordPress administrator for assistance with adding or deleting new users. However, you can edit your own user profile. Let us look at each step in changing a password, adding or deleting users as well as editing profiles.
Changing WordPress Password
You can log into WordPress by going to yourdomain/wp-admin as discussed under How to Log into WordPress. If you do not have your password then you can use the Lost Password option (refer to picture below) to request a password change.
WordPress will then require your username or the email address that was used to register you as a WordPress user. A password reset email will then be sent to you. You will have to know either the username or password in order to reset your password.
If you do not have either your username or password then you will be unable to use this feature. Instead you will need to speak to the registered administrator to assist you by either resetting your password or creating a new WordPress account for you.
Adding a WordPress User
Only an administrator of a specified WordPress website can add new users. If you have administrator access then you can follow these steps.
- Log into WordPress.
- Click on Users on the left menu.
- Click Add New User.
- Fill in the username and email address. This information is required.
- Choose the level of access under the Role section. Beware about which users are given administrator access as an administrator can remove other users, including other administrators.
- WordPress will automatically generate a password. This can be changed by clicking on Show Password and choosing a password of your choice. Ensure that it is a secure password.
WordPress notified the new user at the specific email address of their login credentials (excluding the password). This can be avoided by unchecking the Send User Notification option.
Deleting a WordPress User
WordPress users can be removed through the User section when you log into WordPress. This can only be done by administrators.
- Log into WordPress.
- Click the Users option on the left menu.
- Hover over the user that is to be deleted. Three options will appear – Edit, Delete and View.
- Click the Delete link to remove the user.
Once deleted, a user is removed and cannot log into the back-end of WordPress. If the user is to be re-instated then a new user account will have to be created.